James Dyson Award 2018 Announces National Winner from IIT-Delhi


The national winners from India will now proceed towards consideration for the International top 20 shortlist

Dyson, the British technology company, recognised Amit Kumar and Rituparna Guha as ingenious talents during the second edition of the James Dyson Award. Amit and Ritu are the students of Masters of Design at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi.

James Dyson Award India National Winner goes to SAMARTH whereas the India National Runners Up were INALI – The Bionic Hand and Cargo Ground Built-up System (CGBS). The students were recognised for their innovation – SAMARTH and felicitated with Rs 1,70,000 as prize money. SAMARTH is an assistive mechanism which provides a safe and convenient way of shifting wheelchair users from wheelchairs to other mediums to ease their life.

SAMARTH helps in shifting wheelchair users to any other medium e.g. a bed, a car and vice versa in an easy way. It reduces the efforts of caregivers in the handling of patients, especially during transfer.

The James Dyson Award

The competition is open to student inventors with the ability and ambition to solve the problems of tomorrow. Winning solutions are selected by Sir James Dyson. This year Mexico, UAE, Sweden and Philippines have joined the global contest.

To help finalists to develop their idea, each year the overall winner is awarded with £30,000 and winners in each participating region receive £2,000. The Dyson Institute of Engineering and Technology, the James Dyson Foundation and James Dyson Award embody a vision to empower aspiring engineers, encouraging them to apply their theoretical knowledge and discover new ways to improve lives through technology.

What is the prize?

For the International winner, the prize money is INR 26,00,000 for the student and INR 40,000 for the student’s university department. For the two International runners-up, the prize money is INR 4,00,000 each. If we talk about the National winner, the prize money is INR 1,70,000.

Who can enter the James Dyson Award?

Any university-level student of product design, industrial design engineering, graduate within four years of graduation, who is studying or studied in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Spain, South Korea, Switzerland, Sweden, Taiwan, the UAE, the UK and the USA.