Govt to Establish Centres for Advanced Research at Patna University Soon


Centres for national dolphin research and an advanced seismological research are to be set up in Patna University soon

The proposal for setting up the National Dolphin Research Centre at Patna University has been given a green signal. The establishment of Centre for Advanced Seismological Research would be holding up its green flag soon after the completion of the necessary formalities.

As per the decision was taken, the dolphin centre would come up on 2.5 acre land near Rani Ghat. For which the state environment and forest department minister would be its ex-official chairman whereas the PU vice-chancellor will be its executive chairman.

National dolphin research centre would not be autonomous

Earlier in January 2015, the PU had rejected a government’s proposal for leasing out two acres of university land for setting up the dolphin research centre by concluding that government could not lease out its land to any foreign institution.

Later, it was clarified that the centre would not be autonomous but the governing body of 11 members comprising government officials and senior PU academics will be observing its activities.

Following this, the state government sent a proposal to the Union which passed it and sanctioned necessary funds for establishing it.

The Bihar Educational Infrastructure Development Corporation will construct the building, which will have three laboratories, a museum, a convention centre and a seminar hall, as per the initial plan suggested.

Telemetric stations to evaluate earthquake-related data

Now, if we talk about another research centre for advanced seismological studies then the draft of the MoU has to be signed jointly by the Bihar State Disaster Management Authority and PU which has to be submitted to PU VC for approval.

As Bihar falls under zone IV and V of the earthquake intensity zones.

Therefore, It was proposed that telemetric stations would be constructed at 10 different places including Motihari, Siwan, Chhapra, Muzaffarpur, Madhubani, Samastipur, Saharsa, Munger and Purnia and an advanced centre of seismological research for providing earthquake-related information would be set up at Patna Science College. Here, the faculty members of PU geology department would observe and evaluate the data regularly.